Doing more with pictures in 2012…

327 – Tourist


This is a portrait of the uninvited “tourist,” the invasive and prolific Quagga Mussel.  I didn’t even notice the little sand spider near the bottom middle/left until I blew this up…ewwwwww!  I punched up the detail and saturation on this with Topaz Adjust.  The dried water-junk leaves a white film on the rocks on the beach, making it hard to see the bits of color underneath, especially in bright light.  The biggest of these little critters is about the size of my fingernail, and I have teensy hands.  They’re everywhere.  You can hardly set your foot down without crunching their little dead shells on the beach, and there must be a zillion times that under the water.

11 responses

  1. Excellent focus!

    January 21, 2012 at 9:31 pm

  2. The things we find out when the photos gets blown up. Would not like to walk around there….

    January 22, 2012 at 12:27 am

  3. As Pablo says, great focus on the mussels but I would like to have seen a few more in focus (bigger DoF) so I could understand the fauna better.

    January 22, 2012 at 1:10 am

  4. Cassandra I think the post processing of the shot and the colours when posted are really nice. However like Steve I would have liked for a few more to be in focus too.
    M.

    January 22, 2012 at 7:11 am

  5. Thanks for the input, everybody! I totally agree, fellas. I was disappointed in the lack of focus. I don’t know how obvious it is in the picture, but I was shooting at the point of the rock, which curved dramatically away. I had a hard time getting any focus at all; I was hiking around with my 75-300 zoom when I decided to snap these dudes. Had to back waaaay up from them! I should have used my DofF preview because I feel like this is almost hard to look at as it turned out. I tried cropping it in so that the in-focus critters took up more of the frame, but that really brought to the forefront a lot of noise introduced by my post-processing, so I gave up and left it as-is.

    January 22, 2012 at 10:17 am

  6. Love the processing.

    January 22, 2012 at 11:41 am

  7. good interpretation of the theme word, yes a bit more dof would be good – but you know all that :)

    January 22, 2012 at 3:23 pm

  8. I’ve seen fishermen scrap these mussels off piers and crack them open and use it for bait. Shooting with a longer lens can have its challenges and there are times when we just shoot, but that’s the point, keep shooting :)

    January 23, 2012 at 9:09 pm

  9. I had no idea that these mussels are so small…or are these just very young ones??

    January 23, 2012 at 9:49 pm

  10. Tammy

    Perfect depth and focus!

    January 25, 2012 at 7:38 am

  11. Agree in general with the other comments. Like the post-processing.

    February 14, 2012 at 6:33 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.