Doing more with pictures in 2012…

136 – Glow


This actually was taken this year…before we took the tree down, cuz we were a bit late at that.  This is the newest ornament I bought this year.  Yeah, we have a sense of humor about everything, including Christmas.  We found the Mr. Hankey Christmas Ornament at our Barnes & Noble just before it closed for good (economy).  The only reason I’m using this odd little tidbit for the challenge is because it gave me a good example to play with my other new toy, Topaz Star Effects, which I just bought the other day.

 Here is the final result, and below, the original image.  I love Topaz plug-ins.  They let me fake all the skills I don’t have time or motivation to learn in order to manipulate photos properly using Photoshop Elements.  ;)

So fun!!!

11 responses

  1. Great to see the new Topaz filter in use….nice result

    January 29, 2012 at 10:22 am

  2. Very nice result with the new Topaz plug-in.

    January 29, 2012 at 10:32 am

  3. The difference does improve the great initial image, but that facility is available in Photoshop Elements 10, I read a tut on it at the Elements Village.

    January 29, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    • Thanks! I have not upgraded Elements in a while. I started out with #4 and didn’t upgrade until #8. I’ve had that since it was first released and probably will let at least one more release go by before another upgrade. There just isn’t enough new stuff from one release to the next to justify the expense for me, and I heard that the upgrade to #9 was negligibly beneficial but that #10 was starting to get impressive. Maybe #11 or #12 and I’ll jump on. Can I ask what you use, how you chose it, and how often you are likely to upgrade?

      January 29, 2012 at 4:52 pm

  4. christmas poo with stars! hmmmmm… nice effect though

    January 29, 2012 at 2:25 pm

  5. Nice happy shot Cassandra.
    M.

    January 30, 2012 at 1:13 pm

  6. Cute, and also glad to see that Topaz filter in use.

    January 30, 2012 at 7:51 pm

  7. I love this – the filter makes it really magical.

    January 31, 2012 at 3:09 pm

  8. The subtle star effect really does make a difference in the impact of the photo.

    January 31, 2012 at 6:47 pm

  9. Tammy

    OMG hilarious….my boys would totally want that!

    February 1, 2012 at 1:01 pm

  10. Love the picture and the way the effects make it pop. Takes a good picture and makes it a great picture.

    February 9, 2012 at 9:18 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.