Doing more with pictures in 2012…

Post-Processing Help


Ok, time to put this to the masses…

What does everybody use for post-processing software?

I’ve been using Photoshop Elements 8 for about a year and just recently started researching plug-ins and actions and presets and such.  I shelled out a ton of money for the Topaz suite of plug-ins and after much playing with it, I’m not sure it’s what I need.  I like/use about 3 of the effects, definitely not worth $250 for the apparent use I’m going to get out of it.  I think it’s a bit over my head, and I got it in the first place to simplify my fine-tuning of pictures because Elements is a bit over my head (I just don’t have the time or motivation to pour over the Elements lessons I also subscribed to at www.elementsuser.com ).  I’m now looking at the OnOne plug-in for Elements ($50) but I can’t use it until I upgrade my video card (stupid old computer).

Obviously I’m not a pro and I’m just looking to have some speedy ways to achieve nifty effects in a few clicks, instead of learning how to do it properly.   I want a cheap, easy way to “fake it.”

Do you/did you share my dilemma?  What are you using?  Are you happy with it?

Input greatly appreciated!

3 responses

  1. I’m digging Topaz Adjust. I tried the whole suite for 30 days, but found I always came back to Adjust. It just went on sale so I got it at a great price. I don’t find onOne that useful, except for frames.

    July 16, 2011 at 3:25 am

  2. Tammy

    I am an avid PSE9 and lightroom user….started w/ elements 5 way back when. I am also a topaz junkie….I think it is worth every penny….I use some form of topaz in almost every image (although usually very subtle). I’m w/ Giselle…I hardly ever use my onone….frames once in a while.

    July 16, 2011 at 1:18 pm

  3. Lois

    I really love my Topaz Adjust and I just took the leap and purchased Lens Effects.

    July 17, 2011 at 10:25 pm

Leave a Reply

