Doing more with pictures in 2012…

39 – Celebration


First time I tried catching 4th of July fireworks.  These are taken with a telephoto zoomed to 300MM because we were nowhere near them.  I was surprised how well they turned out, considering the 1.5 miles between me and them, and the headlights going by on the highway pointing right at my camera.  I cropped this from horizontal to vertical and used the Spicify filter in Topaz Adjust.  I had never done this before, and it was ridiculous.  We get to our fireworks-watching spot only to discover I’ve left the memory card out of the camera, again…race home to grab it and get back, set up…frantically Google “taking pictures of fireworks” on my Droid and…voila…  Not too bad under the circumstances.  I took a few I was happy with, but none so much as this one.  Our small-town fireworks display is not this cool, I promise.  All of this did not go off at once.  Thank you, long exposures!

7 responses

  1. Great shots of the celebrations, very colourful.

    July 20, 2011 at 8:49 pm

  2. Beautiful. Great colors and different “strokes” Looks like a painting.

    July 21, 2011 at 4:12 am

  3. Amazing! I like it!

    July 21, 2011 at 5:37 am

  4. Tammy

    Wow, you captured these perfectly! The colors and designs are just stunning!

    July 21, 2011 at 6:10 am

  5. beautiful shot, and the Spicify worked very well on this

    July 21, 2011 at 7:20 am

  6. Great fireworks photos…I’ve never tried these either…maybe next year…you’ve inspired me to try.

    July 22, 2011 at 7:51 pm

  7. Awesome capture of the fireworks.

    January 20, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Leave a Reply

