Doing more with pictures in 2012…

53 – Coiled


What better exemplifies this scene than a snake?  We found this little feller crossing the road in Northern AZ so we stopped to take his picture.  My buddy who is a reptile guy says he is either a Prairie Rattler or a young Arizona Black Rattlesnake (as they are not black until they are mature and this was a little guy).  Hubby thought it was a sidewinder because that’s how it moved but my reptile guy says most young/small rattlesnakes move that way.  I decided to forego a longer exposure, trying to get his rattles blurred because he was moving so much, and as luck would have it my quick shutter caught his tongue out.  I know I look like I’m up in his face but this was with 300mm zoom.  🙂

I intended to do nothing but crop this because it was great.  The colors were nice and everything was the way I liked it.  Then, just because, I started playing with Topaz Adjust and of all things the recover highlights preset really made it crazy beautiful.

4 responses

  1. This is a stunning photo, and you have captured the details perfectly.

    August 19, 2011 at 2:35 am

  2. Lois

    Wonderful detail. There is no way I would get that close to any snake. Yikes!

    August 19, 2011 at 6:20 am

  3. WOW!…that’s EASILY close enough for me
    Nice the way he almost disappears into the background.

    August 19, 2011 at 9:05 pm

  4. Tammy

    Beautiful details in this guy and I love that little tongue…but, way too close for comfort for me!

    August 20, 2011 at 6:21 am

Leave a Reply

