Doing more with pictures in 2012…

26 – Blurred


This is one of my frequent photo faux pas…  I like to use the action mode on my camera to take multiple shots quick and (theoretically) freeze the action really sharp.  However, usually when I’m doing this I’m in the woods and the autofocus zones in on a branch between me and what I’m looking at, and I end up with this.  Still kind of cool.  I mean, how often do you get to see a bear fight?  It went on for about 10 minutes.  Bearizona, of course.

3 responses

  1. Tammy

    Wow, now this is a capture….hope you were a long ways away!

    September 14, 2011 at 8:01 am

  2. What camera do you use? I found that when using more than one focus point I end up with the same problem, so I switched to using only the center focus point.

    Anyway, it’s quite a capture! I would have been scared …

    September 17, 2011 at 1:46 am

    • Canon EOS Rebel XSi. I think my problem is the same…but when I use action mode, selecting autofocus points is not an option. It’s set permanently on AI Servo to track motion, which it obviously doesn’t do well, and I think the focus points are auto select in that mode. I’d have to set my camera to Tv, increase shutter speed, set continuous shooting, and select the center autofocus point before starting to shoot. That’s just too many steps when the fur starts flying! 🙂 Although Tv does stay on the last settings used…I could try to just make sure that’s how it is set most of the time.

      I miss my old Canon AE-1. It was way simpler to use than the “advanced” DSLR. everything was at your fingertips, not inside a series of menus. Ya know?

      September 19, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Leave a Reply

