Doing more with pictures in 2012…

89 – Embark


The original photo was actually taken by my 16yoa nephew using my camera.  Yeah, I’m using it anyway.  I cropped it way down and added some effects with Topaz.

The sky was so plain.  So I opened up Lens Effects and used the Graduated Neutral Density preset to add a little interest to the sky.  Most of the naturally graduated color/light was cropped out in this.  There was no land or other point of reference to go in the frame.  This was at 300mm zoom and has been way cropped besides…the thing was just out in the middle of the blue directly above.

Then as I’m playing with Lens Effects I notice the Toy Camera presets…this one (Memories II?) gave it a very Instagram-y effect that I quite like.  I know “real” photographers think Instagram and similar programs are ruining the art of photography, but for cripes’ sakes let shutterbugs have a little fun.  Especially the ones that aren’t trying to earn a living at photography.  A well-equipped darkroom is to photography what an acoustically superior location is to music (that may not be the best analogy as I know precisely zip about music…only thing I can play is the radio…you get my drift though).  In the digital age, image manipulation programs are to photography what AutoTune is to music; what constitutes “art” is subject to popular culture and for me if it pleases my eyes, ears, etc. then I kind of don’t care how it’s made (so long as it’s not made by skinning babies alive or something).  If you do not like what is made, stop looking and listening and quityerbitchin!  😉

Welcome to 2012, all.  It certainly can’t be any worse than 2011!

7 responses

  1. Sea Planes are among my favourite aircraft.

    January 16, 2012 at 1:19 am

    • Me, too. We don’t see many, for sure! I wish I had some landscape to give this sea plane some perspective, as the irony would have been great. It landed (too far away for good pics, unfortunately) in a small lake in the middle of the Arizona desert among saguaro cactus covered hills!

      January 22, 2012 at 10:31 am

  2. That gives it a great effect…better then the plain blue

    January 16, 2012 at 2:18 am

  3. I love seeing what photoshopping can do to a image.

    January 16, 2012 at 7:43 am

  4. Looks like it’s hanging in mid-air. Oh wait! It is! 😀 Good processing. 🙂

    January 16, 2012 at 11:38 am

  5. Tammy

    Fun processing…love seeing the original next to the processed version…shows the difference well!

    January 16, 2012 at 4:27 pm

  6. Art is definitely personal and since photography and photo-mainipulation are art, we all have our personal likes and dislikes. It is fun to experiment all the possibilities nowadays.

    January 23, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Leave a Reply

